if you give a mouse a…Cookie!

Hey TMFF readers:)

This week is gruesomely busy! I am swamped for the next two weeks. I am not looking forward to it. But when it gets to be the last year of college it seems to get busier and busier because not only are you probably working (like me), you are looking for an internship (mandatory for my degree), as well as going to class and doing AWESOME on your homework while trying to have just a teeny tiny bit of fun thrown in even though you miss your Big Sexy Ginger(BSG for short from now on). I am so glad that I had such a great time on spring break with my sister, Pretty Young Thing(PYT), and my friend Jessica Rabbit(JR). Because I am so swamped I haven’t had a chance to upload pictures but hopefully by my next post I can show yall some of those!

For now I am going to show you some cookies I made for BSG’s nephew’s Birthday. They are made from a sugar cookie recipe I found a couple years ago that I use whenever I am in need of a buttery, sweet, vaguely shortbread-y cut out cookie. It is great for any icing although I prefer royal icing.  To ice these cookies I used the fill method with royal icing.

Sugar Cookies

(can’t remember where it is from)

1 cup unsalted butter

1 cup white sugar

2 eggs lightly beaten

1 tsp vanilla

3 cups flour

2 tsp baking powder

1 tsp salt

Cream butter and sugar. Beat in eggs and vanilla. Ina  second bowl, combine and mix well the flour, baking powder, and salt. Stir flour into butter mixture 1 cup at a time. Chill dough for 3 to 4 hours. Preheat oven to 350 degrees.Roll out dough in 2 batches and cut into desired shapes with cookie cutters. Bake on a sheet pan or parchment lined sheet pan. Bake for 10-15 min. Cool completely before icing.

I used the royal icing recipe on the meringue powder I bought although I have used egg white royal icing. Both work great it is just your prerogative.

In order to get the shapes for these cookies I used a template that BSG’s mom helped me make and a wine glass:)

This is the template we made

This is the template we made, she mostly did:) She looked at a picture of a controller, folded a piece of paper the size I wanted in half and drew the outline, then she cut it out so it would be even. (ignore my toesies)

These are the XYAB buttons on the controller

These are the XYAB buttons still wet from the icing.

These are the controllers still wet with their tiny buttons. At this point I considered putting everything on them but went for a more simplistic look where you could still tell it was a controller without being overwhelming.

Finished! These are not the best I’ve ever done but you can tell the fill icing technique on the buttons. I did not make the icing quite wet enough. Live and Learn. But for fill icing you do a stiff outline of the icing, let that dry, then fill it with a faintly watered down version of the icing, let that dry, then decorate as desired. There are a ton of youtube videos that go through the technique step by step. Here is one I really like: http://www.youtube.com/watch?v=fDN5AMXIzUY

What 12 year old doesn’t want xbox controller cookies for their birthday!?! He loved them fyi:D

Thanks for reading! Have a fantastic day!

2 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Belinda Kuhn on March 30, 2011 at 12:32 pm

    Awesome. I will make these some day. Love your website.

    Reply

  2. Posted by Virginia O'Neal on April 3, 2011 at 9:46 pm

    Loved your cookies and love your blog………mamaw

    Reply

Leave a comment