Mini Turkey Pot Pie= Heaven, Torrential Rain= Hell

Hello TMFF friends,

Thanks for sticking with me over the last few weeks. I have been insanely busy. Classes are coming to an end and that means a ton of last minute stuff to do on top of getting ready for my trip to Italy this summer.

Today I am going to show you my recipe for First-time-ever-mini-turkey-(could be chicken)-pot-pie. GET EXCITED:D  I used leftover turkey from Easter lunch with my mom, PYT, and Mammaw. As far as veggies go I just used what I had available which, with the RAIN, was a yellow onion, jarred minced garlic, and canned peas, corn, and potatoes.

Because it is just me and PYT, I only made 3 pot pies. The amount of filling I made could easily have made three more.

Here are a few pics of PYT and JR from SPRING BREAK-Atlanta. This trip convinced me that I WILL live there someday. Enjoy:)

awww PYT and JR posing in front of… a sign!!

oh, Heyyyy boo! BSG looking good;)

Bodies Exhibit. Crazy! I opted not to go. They said it was very cool though.

At local Italian Restaurant Pasta del Pulcinella

Meee! at the Porter Beer Bar in Little Five Points. If you’re down there you NEED to go here. AWESOME!

Mandatory Beach pic at Hilton Head.

Hahahahaha JR- Dont hate me:) at Sweetwater Brewing Company tour. Yay Beer!! haha

Without further ado…

Mini Chicken/Turkey Pot Pie

1 frozen pie crust (thawed; to use the full amount of filling I made, I would have used 2 if I had them)

3 table spoons of butter

3 to 4 tablespoons of flour

~ 1 cup of milk(maybe more; I forgot to measure)

1/4 can of corn

1/4 can of peas

1/2 can of sliced potatoes; diced

1/4 cup diced yellow onion

1/3 cup shredded turkey

2 cloves minced garlic

Rotisserie chicken seasoning

salt

pepper

sage

cayenne pepper

garlic salt

onion powder

DONT BE DAUNTED BY THE EXTENSIVE INGREDIENT LIST. it really is quite easy.

Sautee onions and garlic in one tablespoon of butter until translucent. Take onion out of pan. Add two tablespoons of butter to the original pan. Add flour one tbsp at a time. Whisk fast! get all that good stuff on the bottom. add milk. whisk. add more flour. whisk. Let cook a few minutes. add in the sauteed onion, turkey, and rest of the veggies. Let cook for a few minutes. Season to taste. Spray mini oven safe containers with Pam, cut out pie crust to fit in and on top of container. put first layer of crust down. Spoon in filling. Top with second layer of crust. Cut a slit in the top crust. Bake according to package directions (about 15-20 min( at 350 Degrees). ENJOY!!

Things tickling my fancy:

1. Rainboots

2. SKYPE- Best thing ever. Let’s me talk to BSG regularly which is great because if I didn’t, I would be so sad:(

3. Rainy day tiger snoozes- even grown-ups need naps:D

Happy Swimming Y’all:)

3 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Linda on April 26, 2011 at 4:15 pm

    Awwww, we are looking good in the ATL. I one hundred percent agree with the tiger snooze fancy, I am in love with naps right now.

    Reply

  2. I love your blog. You look beautiful in the pic at the beer place, I believe that’s on facebook as well? your “food, fun, fancy” slogan is catchy and cute! you make good use of pics. i need to start using a digital camera again so i can get pics up on my blog more efficiently, but i just love the disposable cameras. and i agree with you on ATL, i will live there too one day!

    Reply

  3. Posted by Grant on April 28, 2011 at 9:21 am

    “Oh I just threw this together with what I had lying around”
    How do you do this?
    The only thing I could make under those circumstances: spicy nutella prosciutto sandwiched in cookies… Which can be dunked in olive oil. Or limoncello.
    Those pot pies sound so awesomeeeee. Stay dry please!

    Reply

Leave a Reply

